# **International Federation of Societies for Microscopy**

## **Policy and Procedures for the IFSM Awards**

### Preamble

The IFSM awarded the first John Cowley Medal at the International Microscopy Congress in 2006. The award was associated with the presentation of a talk during the Presidential Symposium of the International Microscopy Congress, the awarding of a medal in recognition of John Cowley's work and was accompanied by an honorarium that is supported by the John Cowley Medal Fund.

In 2012, the IFSM Executive Committee decided that three new awards will be created, which will complement the John Cowley Medal and will provide wider coverage of the different fields of microscopy. Henceforth, the four awardees will receive the award at the International Microscopy Congress following their selection.

## **Rules and Regulations**

#### 1. Fields and scientists in honour of which the awards will be given

The awards will be devoted to the following four areas/fields upon which the award definition will be based:

- i. Diffraction Physics and Microscopy
- ii. New Developments in Optics and Instrumentation
- iii. Applications in Physical Sciences
- iv. Applications in Life Sciences

In the order of the fields listed above, the awards will be named after the following four internationally recognized pioneers in microscopy:

- i. John Cowley
- ii. Vernon Cosslett
- iii. Hatsujiro Hashimoto
- iv. Eduard Kellenberger

The awards honour outstanding contributions of individual scientists and their achievements in the field of microscopy and related techniques. The award cannot be divided and for each award a single nominee has to be selected.

## 2. Definitions of the awards

The **John Cowley Medal** and its definition will remain unchanged and the medal will be awarded in recognition of lifetime achievement to an international leader in the fields of diffraction physics or microscopy.

The **Vernon Cosslett Medal** will honour new developments in optics and instrumentation in all fields of microscopy including hardware, methods and evaluation routines.

Both the John Cowley and the Vernon Cosslett Medal can be devoted to achievements which are of importance for physics/materials science or life sciences. Analytical techniques will be considered in category ii and will cover all spectroscopies and related techniques.

The **Hatsujiro Hashimoto Medal** will be devoted to applications in physical sciences which includes all classes of conventional and composite materials, new effects in solid state physics, meta- and nanomaterials and their properties.

The **Eduard Kellenberger Medal** will be devoted to applications in life sciences and includes all relevant areas in biology, medicine and related fields.

#### 3. Call for nominations

A call for nominations will be sent out to the national and regional societies and an open call will also be put on the IFSM website. The call will include short descriptions of the dedication of the four awards. The call will ask for a short description of the nomination. Nominations can be made by all national and regional societies and by individuals with expertise in the field. Self-nominations will not be accepted and members of the IFSM Executive Board cannot be nominated.

#### **4. Selection Procedure**

Upon closure of the call, the IFSM Executive Committee will review the nominations and will select a short list of candidates for which a full documentation will be collected. The IFSM Executive Committee will ask independent experts to provide all the necessary information and to write an appraisal for the selected candidates.

The final votes on the award winners will then be held by the IFSM Executive Committee via electronic means. If for any reason the awarding committee does not come to a decision, the prize shall not be awarded in that year.

## 5. Acceptance of the Award

The acceptance of the award must be based on a firm commitment to attend the conference and to present the award lecture in the IFSM symposium. If the proposed awardee will not be able to come to the IMC, another candidate will be selected. If the name of the awardee has already been announced but the awardee is unavailable for unforeseeable reasons, it is the duty of the IFSM executive board to select a substitute who will give the lecture. The awardee will not be allowed to select the substitute.

## 6. Presentation of the Award and Award Lecture

The four awardees will receive the award in the form of a medal and an honorarium at the International Microscopy Congress following their selection. The awardees will be honoured by a short laudatio and shall present a talk as part of the IFSM Symposium of the IMC congress.

## 7. Sponsorship of the award

Endowments are required to secure the prize money for four awards. For this purpose, microscopy companies and further possible donors will be approached. The IFSM will increase the endowment if this search is not successful enough.

All four awards will be accompanied by an honorarium of 1,000 US-\$ and a medal, both of which will be paid from the IFSM endowment account.

Further costs (including registration, travel support...) will be covered by the IMC Symposium budget.

### 8. Timetable/Deadlines

The timetable must adhere to the following deadlines as the awardees and the IMC organisers will have to be informed at least one year prior to the International Microscopy Conference. The following timetable is proposed:

18 months before the IMC	Call for nominations will be published and sent to Societies
15 months before the IMC	Receipt of nominations
14 months before the IMC	Preparation of short lists in all four categories, send out requests for full documentation
13 months before the IMC	Have full documents ready for final vote
12 months before the IMC	Final vote completed approach awardees and ask for acceptance Inform IMC organisers of results